Coil supply, screen washers & other electrical questions

Started by darrenmidd, Apr 18, 2024, 08:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

darrenmidd

G'day,

I'm an absolute novice mechanic and a worse auto-electrician. So, having got that out of the way, where are people taking their (ignition-fed) 12v power for the coil? (note that my coil has been relocated). And where is the control (on the instrument panel) for the water jets that spray the window?

Also, when testing the new motor, will gravity-fed fuel be okay for the carb instead of the fuel tank? I haven't sprayed the tub and don't want to install it and put fuel in the tank until after that. So, I was thinking of a 2-litre bottle feeding the fuel line (after manually priming the fuel pump).

diffwhine

Your ignition coil should be fed by a white wire straight off your fuse box on the unfused side of the fuse box. The other side of that fuse is the green fused feeds to gauges, wiper motors, lights and so on.

Washer jets - remember that for many markets during the Series 2 / 2A era, screen wash systems were not mandatory, so were often a dealer fit or DIY fit option. A retrospective law here in the 1960s made it mandatory for all vehicles to have a screen wash system, so it could have been fitted anywhere. Mine, on my 1965 SW is fitted as a switch in the side of the instrument panel housing near the steering column.
1965 2A 88" Station Wagon

darrenmidd

Thanks, that's just the confirmation I needed. Thanks very much. 

Theshed

My washer jet is 'powered' by a plunger, to the left of the ignition switch under the speedo'.

Wittsend

Your 12V supply to the coil should be easy to sort/trace. One wire from the coil goes to the distributor, to other to the aforementioned unfused side of the fuse box.

Your washer "switch" could be anywhere  :confused