News:

Summer is here ...   

Main Menu

2.25 petrol not running well

Started by alex1987, Jul 11, 2024, 11:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alex1987

Hello everyone!

I recently took my series 2 out of hibernation and she just isn't running quite right.
Battery charged, fresh E5 petrol, primed her up and she started easily and and is fine on idle.
When she gets hot, she has started back firing and cuts out at alot of junctions. She starts up quickly luckily and carries on until the next time.
I rarely use her over winter so this has been my routine for the last few years but she has always ran fine until this year.
Does anyone have any ideas what it could be or checks I could do please. I'm a bit of a novice to ge honest but do my best!
Thank you!

P.S she has a Weber carb.

nathanglasgow

Check the easy stuff first eg points,rotor arm, condenser, coil.

Adam1958

The back firing and cutting out when hot hints at a few things, but a bit more info might be good. Does the backfiring happen with the throttle wide open under load, or off throttle up to a junction on over run.
When the poor running condition occurs, does the application of choke improve or worsen it?

Next, Tom recently had a low power, poor running condition that we chased around in a circle for a morning, only to realise the clamp holding the distributor had loosened enough that the distributor had rotated a bit giving a much retarded ignition... similar symptoms to what you have. A very easy check and fix fortunately.

Good luck.

alex1987

Thank you for the advice. I will do some checks over the weekend.
The back fire happens on over run mostly. Unfortunately my choke cable has snapped and I have not replaced it yet so haven't been able to try applying it.

Adam1958