News:

Summer is here ...   

Main Menu

Ramp/lift

Started by JPH, Jul 14, 2024, 06:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JPH

After 40+ years of messing with LR's, I'm looking to get a "outside"  ramp or lift as crawling about under is not as easy as it once was:       What have you got and any advantages or disadvantages ?

4 ton 4 post ramp or 4ton 2 post lift are 2 current lines of thought  but is a 2 post lift any good with a series?

Thanks in advance.       

JPH

PS:  I'm not really a newbie, been a member of all the different forums for a very long time.............    Just don't post much and read a lot.

Wittsend

You need to post a few more times to move up to the next level from "Newbie".

The title is based on post count, not on your Land Rover knowledge or time spent in the club.

:cheers-man

diffwhine

For simplicity and stability I'd definitely go for a 4 post lift. The cheapest around second hand is an old Bradbury 40 series - ideally with wheel free longitudinal bars. The problem is that most are 3 phase and and single phase ones are rare and hugely thirsty on electricity.

If you go for a good 2 post lift, then you are still scrabbling about underneath to align the arms and it's not easy with all lifts to get the right track for a stable lift on a Series (especially SWB). Difficult to position an 88 on a 2 post lift as the road springs can get in the way.
Also for a 2 post lift, the floor integrity is absolutely critical. You need to have that assessed as the forces on the installation bolts are phenomenal.

For me, for a Series for occasional DIY use, I'd say a good 4 post lift takes a lot of beating. They do take up a lot of space though.

Negatives on a 4 post is that second hand ones can be badly worn and cables are expensive.
1965 2A 88" Station Wagon

cswagon

I bought a 4 post lift when I retired and it's been the best tool investment I've ever bought.